# KENT COUNTY COUNCIL

MINUTES of a meeting of the Kent County Council held in the Council Chamber, Sessions House, County Hall, Maidstone on Thursday, 13 December 2012.

# PRESENT: Mr R E King (Chairman) Mr E E C Hotson (Vice-Chairman)

Mrs A D Allen, Mr M J Angell, Mr R W Bayford, Mr A H T Bowles, Mr D L Brazier, Mr C J Capon, MBE. Mr J R Bullock, MBE, Mr R B Burgess, Ms S J Carev. Mr P B Carter, Mr N J D Chard, Mr A R Chell, Mr I S Chittenden, Mr L Christie, Mr G Cowan, Mrs P T Cole, Mr N J Collor, Mr G Cooke, Mr B R Cope, Mr H J Craske, Mr A D Crowther, Mr J M Cubitt, Mrs V J Dagger, Mr M C Dance, Mr J A Davies, Mrs T Dean, Mr K A Ferrin, MBE, Mr T Gates, Mr G K Gibbens, Mr R W Gough, Mrs E Green, Mr M J Harrison, Mr W A Hayton, Mr P M Hill, OBE, Mr D A Hirst, Ms A Hohler, Mrs S V Hohler, Mr M J Jarvis, Mr A J King, MBE, Mr J D Kirby, Mr J A Kite, MBE, Mr S J G Koowaree, Mr P W A Lake, Mrs J P Law, Mr R J Lees, Mr J F London, Mr R L H Long, TD, Mr S C Manion, Mr R F Manning, Mr M J Northey, Mr J M Ozog, Mr R J Parry, Mr R A Marsh. Mr R A Pascoe. Mr T Prater, Mr K H Pugh, Mr L B Ridings, MBE, Mrs J A Rook, Mr A Sandhu, MBE, Mr J E Scholes, Mr J D Simmonds, Mr C P Smith, Mr K Smith, Mrs P A V Stockell, Mr B J Sweetland, Mr R Tolputt, Mrs E M Tweed, Mr M J Vye, Mrs C J Waters, Mr M J Whiting, Mr J N Wedgbury. Mrs J Whittle. Mr M A Wickham Mr A T Willicombe

IN ATTENDANCE: Geoff Wild (Director of Governance and Law) and Peter Sass (Head of Democratic Services)

### **UNRESTRICTED ITEMS**

#### 189. Apologies for Absence

The Director of Governance and Law reported apologies for absence from the following Members:

Mr Robert Brookbank Mr Dan Daley Mr Charles Hibberd Mr Peter Homewood Mr Chris Wells

# 190. Declarations of Disclosable Pecuniary Interests or Other Significant Interests

There were no declarations of interest by any Member on the item contained in this agenda.

#### 13 DECEMBER 2012

## 191. Appointment of Honorary Alderman

- (1) The Chairman invited Mr A King to introduce Mr Kent Tucker, MBE, one of the Council's most distinguished former Members, who had been judged to have provided eminent service both to Kent County Council and the people of Kent, to receive the award of Honorary Alderman.
- (2) RESOLVED unanimously that Mr Kent Tucker, MBE, be awarded the status of Honorary Alderman.
- (3) The Chairman said that he personally had learned a great deal from watching Mr Tucker chair Planning Applications Committee and County Council. The Chairman presented Mr Tucker with his scroll and the Honorary Alderman's bar which had been added to his Past Chairman's ribbon and invited him to address the meeting.
- (4) Mr Tucker offered his sincere gratitude for the honour bestowed upon him by the County Council and congratulated Members on the very good job that the Council was doing.